Government and Policy News, Jobs and People, News, North America

NHA announces new board officers and members for 2020

The National Hydropower Association has announced its new officers and members of the 2020 Board of Directors. 

The executive officers who start their terms of service on January 1, 2020, are:

  • Chair: Jay Anders, Black & Veatch
  • Vice Chair: Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light
  • Treasurer: David Culligan, HDR
  • Secretary: Debbie Mursch, GE Renewables
  • Immediate Past Chair: Alvin Thoma, PG&E

NHA is also welcoming five new members to its Board of Directors:

  • Scott Hennessy, Brookfield Renewables
  • Mary Gail Sullivan, Northwestern Energy
  • Carl Atkinson, Voith Hydro
  • Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light (second term)
  • Randy Herrin, Duke (second term)

In addition to the newly elected members, the board also appointed the following two individuals from NHA member companies to serve as advisory members on the board. As advisory members, they will serve a one-year term in a non-voting capacity. They are David Gatto with Ames Construction and Jeffrey Leahey with SMI.

Leaving the board at the conclusion of 2019 are:

  • Jane Cirrincione, Northern California Power Agency
  • Bob Gallo, Voith Hydro
  • Steve Boyd, Turlock Irrigation District
  • Travis Smith, SNC-Lavalin (advisory member)
  • Doug Spaulding, Nelson Energy (advisory member)

“As an industry, we are privileged to have a deep bench of talented individual who are passionate about hydropower as America’s premier carbon-free, renewable energy resource, and we congratulate our incoming board leadership and new board members,” said Malcolm Woolf, NHA president & chief executive officer. “NHA extends its thanks to outgoing Chair Alvin Thoma for his exemplary vision and leadership in putting NHA on a pathway for continued success.”