Engineers seek nominations for hydropower awards

The American Society of Civil Engineers’ Energy Division is accepting nominations through Nov. 1, 2007, for its Rickey Medal and Phillip R. Hoffman Award.

The Rickey Medal, established in 1947, is named in honor of James W. Rickey and is awarded for a meritorious paper published by the society in the general field of hydroelectric engineering. It also can be given for service recognition of an individual or group that contributed to the science or progress of hydroelectric engineering.

The Hoffman Award, established in 1987, honors an engineer who contributed to the field of pumped storage. The contribution can be in the form of a published paper or performance in the field.

Award nomination forms are on ASCE’s Internet site, Nominations can be submitted via e-mail to either or, or sent to: Jane Moran Alspach, Honors and Awards Program, ASCE, 1801 Alexander Bell Drive, Reston, VA 20191-4400. For information, call (1) 800-548-2723.

Previous articleUPDATE – Senate passes energy bill minus new hydro incentives
Next articleGeorgia to auction 42-MW Zahesi project

No posts to display