Kelliher resigns from Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Commissioner Joseph Kelliher resigned from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission March 9, effective March 13.

Kelliher, a Washington, D.C., Republican, was confirmed by the Senate in November 2003. He was FERC chairman from July 9, 2005, until Jan. 22, 2009. Although he stepped down as chairman in January, he remained on the commission as a member. (HNN 1/8/09) His term expires June 30, 2012.

President Obama named Commissioner Jon Wellinghoff, a Nevada independent, acting chairman Jan. 23. (HNN 1/23/09)

Wellinghoff is the only independent on the five-member commission. FERC members are appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate. The president names the chairman. No more than three members may belong to the same political party.

Following Kelliher’s departure, two Republicans will remain on the panel: Philip Moeller of Washington and Marc Spitzer of Arizona. The other commission member is Suedeen Kelly from New Mexico, the lone Democrat.

Previous articleUPDATE – U.S. boundary commission extends engineering bid date
Next articleUPDATE – Congress passes spending with $40 million for hydro R&D

No posts to display