Russia plans 13 new domestic hydropower plants

A power development plan released by the Russian government on Aug. 9, according to Moscow-based Sputnik News, indicates the country will build 13 domestic hydroelectric power stations, which includes the 110-MW Goluboye Ozero facility in the Kabardino-Balkar Republic of Russia.

No information is immediately available on the estimated cost to complete the entire plan or the Goluboye Ozero project. But, the Goluboye Ozero plant is scheduled “to be put in operation in 2016,” according to the report. The plan reportedly includes two additional hydropower facilities that combined will have a total installed capacity of 284 MW, set to be commissioned in 2020.

Kabardino-Balkaria is located in the Russian Republics of the North Caucasus. The Northern Caucasus region is included in the North Caucasian and Southern Federal Districts and includes: Krasnodar Krai and Stavropol Krai; and constituent republics that include Adygea, Karachay—Cherkessia, Kabardino-Balkaria, North Ossetia—Alania, Ingushetia, Chechnya and the Republic of Dagestan.

In addition to hydropower, the plan also calls for 15 domestic wind power plants that will have a combined total installed capacity of more than 100 MW, the first of which is planned for Adygea in 2017.

Previous articleHydro Equipment Association announces dissolution
Next articleChile looking for micro-hydropower project proposals
Gregory B. Poindexter formerly was an associate editor for

No posts to display