Peru grants Egesur concession for 18.7-MW Moquegua 3 small hydro project

Peru’s energy and mines ministry has granted Empresa de Generación Eléctrica del Sur (Egesur) a definitive concession for the 18.7-MW Moquegua 3 small hydro project.

Egesur, controlled by state business financing fund Fonafe, requested the concession in February 2020. The ministry has authorized its power director to sign the concession contract with the generator, according to BNamericas.

The run-of-river plant is planned for the Otara River in Torata district in Mariscal Nieto province, Moquegua region.

Moquegua 3 falls under the renewable energy resources promotion framework, which in the case of hydropower must not exceed 20 MW. Benefits include dispatch priority and priority to connect to the transmission and distribution grid.

Egesur already holds a definitive concession for the 15.3-MW Moquegua 1 hydro plant, which is due to begin construction in 2021 and commercial operations startup penciled in for 2024.

In December 2020, the company secured a definitive concession for the Sajena-Torata transmission project in Moquegua.

Egesur’s current installed capacity comes from two hydroelectric plants – 23.8-MW Aricota 1 and 11.9-MW Aricota 2 in Tacna — and the 22.9-MW Independencia gas fired plant in Ica. Its development pipeline also includes two hydro projects, 9.6-MW Aricota 3 and 59.1-MW Tambo.

Previous articleC-Power partners with RigNet for offshore data and communication solutions
Next articlePowell, Berry take on leadership positions with EPRI’s Research Advisory Committee
Elizabeth Ingram is content director for the Hydro Review website and HYDROVISION International. She has more than 17 years of experience with the hydroelectric power industry. Follow her on Twitter @ElizabethIngra4 .

No posts to display