Bush nominates FERC Chairman Kelliher to second term

President Bush nominated Joseph Kelliher March 6 to serve an additional five-year term on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and to continue as chairman.

Kelliher’s first term expires June 30. If confirmed by the Senate, he will serve a new term expiring June 30, 2012, the White House said.

�I am deeply honored that President Bush has announced his intent to renominate me for a second term at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,� Kelliher said. �This expression of confidence is humbling, and I look forward to the opportunity to continue in public service to my country.�

Kelliher said the president’s announcement is a tribute to the hard work of commission staff, and recognition of all that the staff and commission members have accomplished.

FERC is composed of five members appointed by the president with the consent of the Senate. Commissioners serve five year terms. No more than three may belong to the same political party.

Kelliher, a Republican, arrived at the commission in 2003 from a job at the Department of Energy, where he served as a senior policy adviser. Bush designated Kelliher chairman in June 2005.

As for the other commissioners, the Senate confirmed the nominations of Republican Philip Moeller, Republican Marc Spitzer, and independent Jon Wellinghoff in July 2006. (HNN 7/14/06)

Moeller’s term will expire June 30, 2010. Spitzer’s term will expire June 30, 2011. Wellinghoff’s term will expire June 30, 2008. Commissioner Suedeen Kelly, the lone Democrat on the commission, is serving a term that expires June 30, 2009.

Previous articleU.S. seeks bids to install circuit breakers at Gavins Point
Next articleBypass valve, extra turbine planned for Norway’s 130-MW Trollheim

No posts to display