U.S. Senate panel sets hearing for FERC nominations

The Senate Energy Committee plans to conduct a hearing June 8 to consider the president’s nominations of Philip Moeller of Washington State and Jon Wellinghoff of Nevada to Federal Energy Regulatory Commission vacancies.

Moeller, a Republican, is executive director of the Washington office of Alliant Energy Corp. Wellinghoff, an independent, is a partner in the law firm Beckley Singleton, specializing in energy and consumer law.

If approved by committee, and confirmed by the full Senate, Moeller, would serve a term expiring June 30, 2010. Wellinghoff would serve a term expiring June 30, 2008.

FERC is composed of five commissioners appointed by the president with the consent of the Senate. Commissioners serve five-year terms. No more than three commissioners may belong to the same political party. The president designates one member to serve as chairman and FERC’s administrative leader.

Currently, two of FERC’s three members are Republicans. They are Chairman Joseph Kelliher and Commissioner Nora Mead Brownell. Commissioner Suedeen Kelly is the lone Democrat. Brownell’s term expires June 30, 2006, and Kelliher’s term expires June 30, 2007. Kelly’s term expires June 30, 2009.

Previous articleNiger seeks consultants for power sector reviews
Next articleCegelec in consortium to build two Morocco projects

No posts to display