Workshop: Boom Design for Safety, Debris and Security

  • Date:

    July 21, 2020 at 12:30 PM EDT / 11:30 AM CDT / 9:30 AM PDT / 4:30 PM GMT

  • Duration:

    1 Hour.
  • CEU:

    A certificate of attendance will be offered.
  • Presented by:

    Andrew Peters, Director Markets and Applications, Pacific Netting Products
    David Bonin, Senior Engineer, Hydrotechnical, Hatch
    Jim Miller, Chair Operational Excellence Program, National Hydropower Association
  • Register for the Webcast: Workshop: Boom Design for Safety, Debris and Security

In the last decade, the understanding of the importance of safety, debris, ice and security booms has increased rapidly. However, the state of the art in the design of booms has proceeded relatively slowly in comparison. In this presentation, David Bonin, Senior Engineer, Hydrotechnical at Hatch, will discuss past boom failures and lessons learned to advance industry understanding of boom design; Jim Miller, Chair or National Hydropower Association Operational Excellence program will discuss how to learn from and prevent reoccurrence of events by information sharing and Andy Peters, Director of Markets for Pacific Netting Products will provide a site specific exampe of boom design.

Presented by:

Andrew Peters

Director Markets and Applications, Pacific Netting Products

Presented by:

David Bonin

Senior Engineer, Hydrotechnical, Hatch

Presented by:

Jim Miller

Chair Operational Excellence Program, National Hydropower Association