ASDSO announces award winners at recent dam safety conference

The Association of State Dam Safety Officials recently honored a number of individuals and companies for their work in the dam safety field during its recent conference in Philadelphia.

Recognized during a special awards banquet were:

  • National Rehabilitation Project of the Year: Colorado Parks and Wildlife’s Beaver Park Dam
  • National Award of Merit: Bruce Tschantz (University of Tennessee Professor Emeritus, former Chief of Federal Dam Safety) and Ron Corso (formerly with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission);
  • Northeast Award of Merit: Suez Water (New Jersey) and the Springfield Water & Sewer Commission (Massachusettts);
  • Southeast Regional Award of Merit: Lyle Bentley (Tennessee Dam Safety Program);
  • Midwest Regional Award of Merit: Ohio Department of Natural Resources Division of Engineering;
  • West Regional Award of Merit: John Clark (Colorado Parks & Wildlife) and Michele Lemieux (Montana Dam Safety Section);
  • Terry Hampton Medal: Blake Tullis (Utah State University);
  • President’s Award: Mark Baker (National Park Service) and Lucas Trumble (Michigan Department of Environmental Quality);
  • ASDSO Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship: Cali McMurtrey (Brigham Young University); and
  • Student Paper Competition: Emily Reed (Tennessee Tech) and Yi Tyan Tsai (UCLA).

ASDSO is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping its members learn more about dam safety through engineering, operation, maintenance and emergency response.

For more dam safety news, visit here.

Previous articlePakistan seeks World Bank arbitration related to the Indus Water Treaty with India
Next articleKorean company to construct 350-MW Athhmuqam hydropower facility in Pakistan
Michael Harris formerly was Editor for

No posts to display