Canadian Dam Association updates safety guidelines

The Canadian Dam Association is updating and revising its 1999 Dam Safety Guidelines. A draft is to be unveiled Sept. 30-Oct. 3 at CDA’s 2006 annual conference in Quebec City.

Experts from Canada and elsewhere are reviewing the guidelines ahead of issuance of the draft. Once the draft is issued, CDA members will be given a year to use the guidelines and suggest improvements, CDA Executive Director Barry Hurndall said.

The draft likely will be provided to members of the association at nominal cost. In addition, it will be provided to registrants at CDA’s annual conference, where a session is planned to discuss it, Hurndall said.

The final version will be distributed at the 2007 annual conference in St. John’s, Newfoundland. It also will be available for order though CDA’s Internet site,

Guidelines include principles, practices, procedures

The revised guidelines will consist of dam safety principles applicable to all dams, and practices and procedures that can be used to meet the principles. Sections on emergency planning and dam safety analysis (including hydro-technical, seismic hazard, geotechnical, and structural considerations) will receive significant revisions.

New information will include:
o Discussion on risk issues (in the decision making and dam classification section);
o More information on operation, maintenance, and surveillance; and
o New sections on flow control equipment, dam safety management, and additional information on dam safety reviews.

Hurndall said the guidelines are intended to provide basic principles that are understandable and acceptable to dam owners, operators, regulators, and engineers.

CDA calls for award nominations

CDA is calling for nominations by Aug. 31 for awards recognizing outstanding performance in Canada’s dam industry.

The Inge Anderson Award of Merit, Published Paper Award, Student Award, and Peter Halliday Award for Service are to be presented to recipients at CDA’s 2006 annual conference.

The Inge Anderson Award is offered every two years to persons who have distinguished themselves in the dam industry. The Published Paper Award is offered to authors who prepare outstanding articles or technical papers on dam-related issues.

The Student Award is made to a full-time university student in engineering in Canada. The recipient receives a C$500 cash award and one-year membership from CDA. The Peter Halliday Award recognizes CDA members making an outstanding commitment to CDA.

Nomination forms are available on-line on CDA’s Internet site, All recipients must be CDA members.

Previous articleEnel Investment buys stake in Panama’s 300-MW Fortuna
Next articleFERC EIS recommends relicensing 1,236.6-MW Rocky Reach

No posts to display