Executives at Brazilain hydroelectric power operators Cemig, CESP resign

Two high-ranking board members from Brazilian utilities Companhia Energetica de Minas Gerais (Cemig) and Companhia Energetica de Sao Paulo (CESP) have resigned, according to separate announcements from both companies.

The first, Dorothea Werneck, served as chair of Cemig’s Board of Directors after being Brazil’s Minister of Labor from 1989-90 and its Minister of Industry, Trade and Tourism between 1995 and 1996. She is still currently the Secretary of Economic Development for the State of Minas Gerais.

Belo Horizonte-based Cemig (NYSE: CIG) said Werneck resigned for personal reasons.

Meanwhile, CESP chair Jose Anibal also submitted his resignation, though the Sao Paulo-based company did not specify the reason. Anibal will maintain his position as Sao Paulo’s Secretary of Energy.

Neither company has filled their vacancy yet.


Previous articleCorps seeks arc flash analysis at Tulsa District hydro projects
Next articleGuinea renews call for social-environmental assessment of 75-MW Garafiri hydro project, thermal plant
Michael Harris formerly was Editor for HydroWorld.com.

No posts to display