FERC inaugurates Commissioner LaFleur

For the first time in months, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission has a full bench with the swearing in of Commissioner Cheryl A. LaFleur on July 13.

On June 22, the Senate confirmed President Obama’s nomination of LaFleur, a Democrat and utility executive, and the renomination of Commissioner Philip D. Moeller, a Republican, to the five-member panel. (HydroWorld 6/23/10)

LaFleur, of Massachusetts, was named to succeed Commissioner Suedeen Kelly, a New Mexico Democrat who declined renomination in 2009. (HydroWorld 9/22/09) LaFleur’s term expires in 2014.

LaFleur has more than 20 years’ experience as a leader in the New England electricity and gas industries, retiring in 2007 as executive vice president and acting chief executive of National Grid USA.

No more than three members of the same political party may serve on the five-member commission. Other Democrats are Chairman Jon Wellinghoff and John R. Norris of Iowa, who was nominated by Obama and confirmed by the Senate in January. (HydroWorld 1/4/10) The other Republican is Marc Spitzer of Arizona.

For more FERC news, click here.

Previous articleRenewables tariff study sought by Ghana
Next articleHydro generator Puget Sound completes trap-and-haul facility and hatchery to boost salmon runs

No posts to display