HRF adds 2016 researchers, names new board of directors and advisory board

The Hydro Research Foundation has selected four students for its 2016 class of researchers.

The new student researchers, and their areas of focus, are:

  • Claire Beveridge — University of Washington, Improved Hydrologic and Sedimentation Modeling for Hydropower Systems: A Case Study on the Elwha River Dams
  • Philip Ebben — Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Renewable Energy Pairing for Sustained Grid Stability
  • Elliott Jackson — Oregon State University, A Cost Benefit Analysis and Hardware Validation of Synchronous and Variable Speed Hydropower Systems for New Stream Reach Projects
  • Bianca Viggiano — Portland State University, Assessing and Controlling Instabilities in a Two-Phase Vortex Column via Proper Orthogonal Decomposition

These one-year awards are intended to allow the students to conduct focused research related to conventional and pumped-storage hydropower, as well as to attract student researchers to careers in hydro, HRF says.

Each award includes a living stipend; a tuition, fees and university-provided health insurance allowance; travel costs to attend the Annual Hydro Fellows Roundtable; and an award into a university’s discretionary account for the student’s academic advisor for the research.

The awards are made possible by a grant from the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy program of the U.S. Department of Energy, as well as industry partners.

In addition, a new board of directors and advisory board have been announced.

Executives are:

  • Chairman Leslie Eden, HCI Partners
  • Vice Chairman Kenneth Odom, Southern Company
  • Treasurer Steve Wenke, Avista Utilities
  • Secretary Wendy Bley, TRC Solutions
  • Legal Counsel Janet Audunson, National Grid
  • Past President Gregg Carrington, Chelan County PUD

Other board members are: Steve Amaral, Alden Laboratories; Steve Brown, HDR; Tim Brush, Normandeau Associations; Paul Jacobson, EPRI; Kenneth Kemp, Micro Renewable Solutions; Mark Killgore, American Society of Civil Engineers; Kimber Long, Exelon Corp.; Patrick McCarty, Tacoma Power; Gerry Russell, Weir American Hydro; and Michael Sale, Low Impact Hydro Institute.

Advisory board members are: Norm Bishop, Knight Piesold; John Esler, Portland General Electric; John Gangemi, ERM; Kirby Gilbert, MWH; Lisa Larson, HDR; Geoff Rabone, Yuba County Water Agency; Alan Roth, Weir American Hydro; Sue Nee Tan, PG&E; Carl Vansant, HCI Partners; Lewis Wardle, Idaho Power; and Paul Williams, Kleinschmidt Associates.

Previous articleDRIFT Act passed in April for BIA dams
Next articleHydro Tasmania takes over GE engineering workshop
The Hydro Review content team brings you the latest in Hydropower news. Learn about recent developments in the industry and stay knowledgeable in your field.

No posts to display