HydroVision International 2013 Attendee Choice Awards announced

The editors of Hydro Review and HRW-Hydro Review Worldwide magazines announced the HydroVision International 2013 Attendee Choice Award recipients during the recent event’s closing luncheon.

With more than 70 sessions featured during this year’s HydroVision International conference slate, the top three from each of the event’s days were selected via attendee voting.

Receiving Awards for Wednesday are:

  • 1) Session 2C: Development of a Successful Hydro. Moderated by Christopher Ball (CFI Capital), with Richard Blanchet (Innergex Renewable Energy Inc.), Daniele Boscolo Meneguolo (Sorgent.e), Ben Kaun (Electric Power Research Institute) and Dan Woznow (AltaGas Ltd.)
  • 2) Session 2A: Keeping All the Moving Parts in Synch — Logistics and Sequencing of Modernization Activities. Moderated by Mark Boyle (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), Kris Atanassov (MWH Americas Inc.), Gregory Lewis (Duke Energy), Suzanne Ton (Hydro-Quebec), Scott Torvik (Alstom) and Eric Vaughn (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior).
  • 3) Session 1C: Where is Tomorrow’s Hydro? Latest Hydropower Resource Assessments. Moderated by Kerry McCalman (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), with Jason Busch (Oregon Wave Energy Trust), Lewis Dixon (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), Kurt Johnson (Telluride Energy), Michael Pulskamp (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), Kamau Sadiki (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers) and Brennan Smith (Oak Ridge National Laboratory).

Receiving awards for Thursday are:

  • 1) Session 4A: Moving Toward Extraordinary — Understanding What New Workers Need to Excel in Their Jobs. Moderated by Kyle Burns (LG&E and KU Energy), with Herbie Johnson (Southern Company), Andrew Rye (Mighty River Power Ltd.), Karen Studarus (University of Washington), Jamie Studinski (Basler Electric Company) and Andrew Ware (Weir American Hydro).
  • 2) Session 3A: Coming Across the Finish Line — Building a Commissioning Plan that Works. Moderated by Steve Wenke (Avista Utilities), with Shannon Brown (Meridium), Stanley Hayes (MWH Americas, Inc.), Andre Tetreault (VibroSystM) and John Yale (Chelan County Public Utility District).
  • 3) (Tie) Session 4C: Rehabilitation of Federal/Existing Facilities in the Next 10-20 Years. Moderated by Kamu Sadiki (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), with Francois Berthiaume (Alstom Power Inc. Hydro USA), Kevin Frank (Voith Hydro, Inc.), Stanley Kocon (Voith Hydro) and Christopher Vick (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior).
  • 3) (Tie) Session 4D: Technology and Project Status — Tidal and In-Stream. Moderated by Robert Thresher (National Renewable Energy Laboratory), with Raphael Arlitt (Voith Hydro Ocean Current Technologies GmbH & Co. KG), M.P. Cherian (DLZ Corporation), Alex Fleming (Snohomish County PUD) and Kim Moore (Snohomish County PUD).

Receiving awards for Friday are:

  • 1) Session 7A: What’s Going On In There? Improving Condition Assessment Methods and Tools. Moderated by Richard Nelson (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), with Christopher Brown (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), James Clune (Bonneville Power Administration), Matt Dau (Bonneville Power Administration), Jean-Louis Drommi (Electricite de France) and Chip Stalica (Pacific Gas & Electric).
  • 2) Session 7C: Hydro Development Without a Dam. Moderated by Mike Applegate (Applegate Group), with Jim Heneghan (Delta Montrose Electric Association), Egil Opsahl (CleanPower AS), Sonya Reiser (Knight Piesold and Company) and Nathan Smith (Denver Water).
  • 3) (Tie) Sessioin 6B: How Long Will Your Dam Last? Moderated by C. Richard Donnelly (Hatch), with Greg Baecher (University of Maryland), William Fiedler (Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior), Minal Parekh (Colorado School of Mines) and Stephen Rigbey (BC Hydro).
  • 3) (Tie) Session 7B: Public Safety Around Dams: What is Your Liability? Moderated by James Weldon (James Weldon and Associates, LLC), with Gilles Bourgeois (Genvair Inc.), Jack Byers (Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior) and Mac Mikkelsen (Avista Corporation).

Also presented during the HydroVision International closing luncheon were awards for Best Technical Papers and honors for this year’s Hydro Hall of Fame inductees.

HydroVision International 2014 takes place July 22-25 in Nashville, Tenn.

For more information about the event, or to submit technical paper abstracts and panel presentations for the 2014 conference, visit HydroEvent.com.

Previous articleBrazilian trade group urges hydroelectric project development
Next articleU.S. seeks bids to refurbish transformers at 1,076.6-MW Bonneville Dam
The Hydro Review content team brings you the latest in Hydropower news. Learn about recent developments in the industry and stay knowledgeable in your field.

No posts to display