HydroVision International 2014 Attendee Choice Awards announced

HydroVision Logo

The editors of Hydro Review and HRW-Hydro Review Worldwide magazines announced the HydroVision International 2014 Attendee Choice Award recipients during the recent event’s closing luncheon.

The ceremony capped a conference that included more than 70 sessions spread across seven tracks, with the top three sessions from each day being selected via attendee voting.

Receiving awards for Wednesday were:

First — Session 2C: Criteria for Successful Pumped-Storage Development Moderated by Debbie Mursch (Alstom), with Joe Eberhardt (EDF Renewable Energy), Leon Furstenburg (Knight Piesold), Vladimir Koritarov (Argonne National Laboratory), Decio Silva (EDP) and Olivier Teller (Alstom Hydro).

Second — Session 1F: Extreme Events: Case Studies and Lessons Learned Moderated by Wendy Bley (TRC), with Curtis Jawdy (Tennessee Valley Authority), Zoran Micovic (BC Hydro), Nora Rosemore (Minnesota Power), Baxter Vieux (Vieux & Associates, Inc.) and Steven Stockton (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers).

Third (Tie) — Session 1D: Generator, Transformer and Substation Maintenance Moderated by Bill Moore (National Electric Coil), with Derek Brown (Pacific Gas & Electric Company), Ian Cook (ICCL), Jean-Louis Drommi (Electricite de France), Jeff Nofsinger (Idaho Power) and Jeff Phelps (Southern Company Services).

Thid (Tie) — Session 1E: International Financing Options and Policies Moderated by Patrice Caporossi (The World Bank), Craig O’Connor (Export-Import Bank of the United States), Debby Stone (Knight Piesold) and Michael Swiger (Van Ness Feldman LLP).

Receiving awards for Thursday were:

First — Session 3C: The Challenge of Balancing Risks and Rewards in the Finance World Moderated by Christopher Ball (Corpfinance International and CFI Capital), with Richard Blanchet (Innergex Renewable Energy, Inc.), Daniele Boscolo Meneguolo (Sorgent.e) and Jeff Norman (Algonquin Power Company).

Second — Session 3E: Looking to 2020: Is there a New Normal in Relicensing in the U.S.? Moderated by Nancy Skancke (NJS Law PLC), with John Devine (HDR), Jennifer Hill (Federal Energy Regulatory Commission) and John Seebach (American Rivers).

Third — Session 5C: THe Corps of Engineers’ 408 Process: Public-Private Partnerships in the U.S. Moderated by Kamau Sadiki (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), Tylynn Gordon (Strategies 360), Kristina Johnson (Enduring Energy, LLC), Dan Lissner (Free Flow Power Corp.) and Raymond Wahle (Missouri River Energy Services).

Receiving awards for Friday were:

First — Session 6D: Grid Stability and Cyber Security Moderated by Roger Clarke-Johnson (American Governor Company), with John Holbrook (Systems Integrated), Danial Purzycki (Alstom Power) and Thomas Strickland (Black & Veatch Corporation).

Second — Session 6A: The Life of Digital Equipment (aka Perpetual Movement) Moderated by Steve Wenke (Avista Utilities), with David Brown (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ Hydroelectric Design Center), Bill Carroll (AEP Hydro Generation), Scott Fallon (Southern Company), Ron Hahn (Alstom Power Inc.) and Scott Smyth (Sapere Consulting).

Third — Session 6B: What Went Wrong, and What is the Next Generation Going to Do About It? Moderated by Sean Hinchberger (Hatch Associates), with Craig Giesmann (Ameren Missouri), Charles Hutton (Hutton Consulting Inc.) and Tony Rattue (SNC-Lavalin Hydro).

Also presented during the HydroVision International closing luncheon were awards for Best Technical Papers and honors for this year’s Hydro Hall of Fame inductees.

HydroVision International 2015 takes place July 14-17 in Portland, Ore. For more information about the 2015 conference, visit HydroEvent.com.

Previous articleU.S.: Non-hydro renewables generation on track to exceed hydro generation
Next articleConstruction begins on Iowa’s 36.4-MW Red Rock hydropower plant
Michael Harris formerly was Editor for HydroWorld.com.

No posts to display