National Hydropower Association selects new leadership team

WASHINGTON, D.C. 2/20/12 (PennWell) — The National Hydropower Association’s Board of Directors has named its officers and advisory board for 2012-2013.

David Moller of Pacific Gas & Electric Company was elected to his second term as president. Joining him will be Cherise Oram of Stoel Rives as vice president, Eric Van Duren of Mead & Hunt as treasurer and Suzanne Grassell of Chelan County Public Utility District as secretary.

NHA also announces five newly-elected members of the Board of Directors:
Jane Cirrincione, Northern California Power Agency
Kevin Frank, Voith Hydro
Kirby Gilbert, MWH Americas
— Lisa Grow, Idaho Power
Steve Wenke, Avista

In addition, five members have joined NHA’s Advisory Board:
— John Barnes, Exelon Power
John Claybrook, Alstom
Wayne Dyok, Alaska Energy Authority
Jeanne Hilsinger, Mavel
— Jon Suloway, New York Power Authority

NHA’s new board and leadership team will take their positions during the NHA Conference that runs April 16-18 in Washington, D.C.

Previous articleVoith signs financing deal with Chinese partners
Next articleSSE Renewables applies for pumped-storage facility approval

National Hydropower Association accepting scholarship applications

WASHINGTON, D.C. 1/6/12 (PennWell) — The National Hydropower Association is accepting applications for its 2012 NHA Past Presidents’ Legacy Scholarship.

The US$2,500 scholarship will be awarded to a current college sophomore or junior who demonstrates “the academic skills and commitment to help create the next generation of hydropower industry,” according to an NHA release.

Applications are due Feb. 15, 2012, and the winner will be announced at the NHA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C., in April.

For more information about past scholarship winners, further eligibility requirements and an application, visit the NHA website.