NHA announces new executive committee, board members

NHA Logo

The National Hydropower Association introduced new officers and board members during its annual conference in Washington, D.C., earlier today, ushering in a new wave of organization leadership.

Per the results of elections held during its February meeting, NHA’s new executive committee includes:

McCormick is vice president of TVA’s Safety, River Management and Environment organization, which is responsible for the forecasting and scheduling of the entire Tennessee River System in the utility’s seven state service area. SRM&E also oversees dam safety for TVA’s 29 hydropower projects, 20 non-powered dams, Racoon Mountain pumped-storage plant and 14 navigation locks. McCormick previously served 25 years with Exelon.

“I am honored and very proud to be chosen to lead the National Hydropower Association,” McCormick said. “I look forward to working with our board, our leadership and our members to promote the growth of clean, affordable U.S. hydropower, and to secure the energy, environmental and economic benefits of hydropower resources for all Americans.

“Now is the time for us to take advantage of favorable conditions with policy makers on hydro relicensing and regulatory reform to make approval processes easier, more competitive, and more desirable for developers and owners to grow the industry.”

McCormick’s presidency begins after what might be arguably two of the American hydro sector’s most significant years with both the Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency and Bureau of Reclamation Small Conduit Hydropower Development acts being enacted during the tenure of his predecessor, Marc Gerken of American Municipal Power.

“I have been truly honored to serve as president of NHA and have enjoyed my time in that position,” Gerken, who served consecutive one-year terms, said. “As I’ve indicated before, these last few years have been an exciting time for the hydro industry with projects under development, the ‘rediscovery’ of the valuable role hydro plays in the nation’s energy industry, and the fact that we as a nation understand the tremendous potential that still exists.

“The challenge for the new board and NHA staff is to capitalize on this potential, keeping hydro at the forefront of discussions with policymakers at all levels of government.”

Even with America’s presidential election looming in 2016, NHA executive director Linda Church Ciocci said the organization’s new executive committee has a number of goals to strive for.

“There is much to be done in the coming year to strengthen the business and policy environment for hydropower,” Ciocci said. “This talented group makes me certain that NHA will continue to make great strides advancing the association and the industry, as a whole, especially as we face a new Congress and possible comprehensive energy legislation.”

NHA also announced new additions to its board of directors, including:

  • Nicolas Bosse, Brookfield Renewable Energy Partners
  • Tim Oakes, Kleinschmidt
  • Dave Culligan, HDR Inc.
  • Paul Lau, Sacramento Municipal Utility District
  • Pamela Williams, Santee Cooper
  • Dave Sinclair, Advanced Hydro Solutions
  • Alvin Thomas, Pacific Gas & Electric

The organization also added Bob Gallo (Voith Hydro) and Randy Herrin (Duke Energy) to its advisory board.

“The U.S. hydropower industry has many exciting opportunities ahead,” Ciocci said. “Having a strong board that understands the opportunities and challenges of the coming year will be integral to our success. I’m excited to welcome the new board members and officers to our team.”


Previous articleSerbia seeks electrical, mechanical equipment to refurbish seven small hydro projects
Next articlePakistan again extends pre-qualification for civil works at 2,160-MW Dasu Stage 1 hydro project
Michael Harris formerly was Editor for HydroWorld.com.

No posts to display