NHA Past Presidents’ scholarship applications due February 16

NHA Logo

The deadline to submit an application for the National Hydropower Association’s 2015 Past Presidents’ Legacy Scholarship program is approaching, with all submissions due Monday, February 16.

The US$2,500 scholarship will be awarded to “promising young students who demonstrate the academic skills and commitment to help create the next generation of the hydropower industry,” NHA said, and is open exclusively to applications pursuing degrees in engineering, sciences, communications, environmental studies or other fields relevant to the hydroelectric sector.

Qualifying applicants must also be current college sophomores or juniors who will be college juniors or seniors beginning Fall 2015, or graduate students with a minimum cumulative 3.0 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

A full list of eligibility requirements is available via the NHA’s website here, or download an application here.

The scholarship recipient will be announced during the 2015 NHA Annual Conference, which takes place April 27-29 in Washington, D.C.

The Past Presidents’ Legacy Scholarship was established in 2008 and is funded by contributions from NHA, the Hydro Research Foundation, and other organizations and individuals in the hydroelectric field.

In 2014, the scholarship was awarded to Thomas Decker, a State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry student, and Nicole Peterson, a University of Wyoming student, bot pursuing degrees in environmental engineering.

Previous articleInspector: FERC policies to protect sensitive grid information were ‘severely lacking’
Next articleTurkey’s 10th Development Plan includes US$16 billion for hydroelectric power
Michael Harris formerly was Editor for HydroWorld.com.

No posts to display