NHA presents Henwood, OSAW awards at Waterpower Week in Washington

The National Hydropower Association presented the winners of its Dr. Kenneth Henwood and Outstanding Stewards of America’s Waters awards at Waterpower Week in Washington.

David Moller received the Henwood award in recognition of his dedication to the hydropower industry throughout his 42-year career. This award is given in recognition of a lifetime of achievement and is NHA’s most prestigious honor.

“As a pioneer, David’s contribution to the hydropower industry cannot be overstated,” said Linda Church Ciocci, Executive Director of NHA. “In addition to being a trailblazer at the national and local level on licensing reform, he has been a strong advocate for environmental stewardship.  On behalf of the hydropower industry, we would like to congratulate David for his tireless dedication to promote the value and growth of hydropower.”

Moller is a director of power generation at Pacific Gas & Electric Company, managing nearly 4,000 MW.

Throughout his career, Moller has been an industry innovator, NHA says, driving hydropower policy as a two-term president of NHA and a member of NHA’s CEO Council. At the national and local level, Moller has been at the forefront of licensing reform. He led the first collaborative relicensing settlement agreement in California, which still serves as a national model. In addition to leading one of the seven pioneering ILP relicensing proceedings nationwide, he steered the first-ever cooperative relicensing proceeding with another FERC licensee on the same reach of the same river.

NHA also presented four OSAW awards, which recognize projects that have provided extraordinary recreational, historical, environmental or educational value. The winners were Tacoma Power, Snohomish County Public Utility District, We Energies, and Chelan County Public Utility District and the Foundation for Water and Energy Education.

The OSAW awards provide recognition to deserving organizations and reflect the changing nature of the hydropower industry, particularly the fact that hydropower can be used in various waterways. The program merges the former Hydro Achievement Awards and Outstanding Stewardship of America’s Rivers Report.

“This year’s OSAW winners are a true reflection of the hydropower industry’s commitment to sustainability and environmental stewardship,” Ciocci said. “From creating state-of-the-art hatcheries to educational programs, these projects demonstrate the value hydropower brings to local communities.”

The winners in each category were:

  • Tacoma Power’s Cushman Hydroelectric Project Hatcheries (Recreational, Environmental and Historical Enhancement)
  • Snohomish County PUD’s Volitional Fish Passage at Diversion Dam (Recreational, Environmental and Historical Enhancement)
  • We Energies’ Twin Falls Powerhouse Redevelopment Project (Operational Excellence)
  • Chelan County PUD and FWEE’s Hydropower and STEM Career Academy (Public Education)

For more information on the awards, visit www.hydro.org/osaw.


Previous articleCongressional interest in hydropower reform reflected in hearings, calls for additional discussion
Next articleOperations begin at 5-MW Siti 1 small hydropower plant in Uganda
The Hydro Review content team brings you the latest in Hydropower news. Learn about recent developments in the industry and stay knowledgeable in your field.

No posts to display