NHA presents Henwood Award to Enduring Energy director Mark Garner

WASHINGTON, D.C. 4/19/12 (PennWell) — Mark Garner, director of hydropower for Enduring Energy, has been given the Dr. Kenneth Henwood Award by the National Hydropower Association in recognition of his lifetime of achievement in the hydroelectric sector.

Garner, a 24-year veteran of the hydropower industry, was selected by a committee of his peers and presented with the award at NHA’s Annual Conference in Washington, D.C.

“His strategic vision and belief in hydropower’s opportunity have brought tremendous value to the association,” says Linda Church Ciocci, NHA executive director. “He has always recognized the importance of working with policymakers to achieve the growth mission NHA continues to pursue, and consistently pushes the industry toward greater political engagement.”

Garner is a registered professional engineer in Pennsylvania and served as president and chief executive officer of Voith Hydro from 2003 until his retirement in 2010. He currently serves on NHA’s Board of Directors and was a founder and chair of the association’s CEO Council.

Michael: Somewhere in this story we need to say what Enduring Energy is and how it relates to the hydro industry

“Before joining the hydro industry, a respected colleague of mine advised me — and I quote — ‘Hydro is the dinosaur of the power industry’,” Garner recalls. “Fortunately, I did not listen to him, and I’m happy to report that he was wrong.”

It is this passion for the industry that Garner credits as one of his greatest motivators.

“This award reflects my intense belief in hydropower,” Garner says. “Hydro has a key role in the national and global energy portfolio. It’s not the total solution, but it is a vital part of the mix.”

NHA established the Dr. Kenneth Henwood Award in 1990 to honor Kenneth Henwood, who died while working on a project in California. The association says it has since become its most prestigious individual achievement, and its recipients must demonstrate the qualities of its namesake.

Garner follows Selim Chacour, founder and president of American Hydro Corp., who received the Henwood Award at NHA’s 2011 conference.

Previous articleReunion Island seeks small hydro on three irrigation reservoirs
Next articleCorps seeks architect-engineers for work in Midwest

NHA presents Henwood Award to American Hydro President Selim Chacour

Selim Chacour, founder and president of American Hydro Corp., received the Dr. Kenneth Henwood Award for individual achievement during the National Hydropower Association’s 2010 Conference, held April 26-28, 2010, in Washington, D.C.

NHA established the Henwood Award in 1990 in memory of Kenneth Henwood, an NHA board member, engineer, and developer who died while working on a project in California.

Chacour is credited with revolutionizing the way runners were designed throughout the hydro turbine industry. American Hydro, founded in York, Penn., in 1986, specializes in the design and manufacture of high-performance hydro turbines and pumps and is now a leading supplier for the hydro industry.

“He was an innovator in developing and applying finite element methods to improving turbine designs,” said Leslie Eden, chair of the Henwood Selection Committee. “Finite element methods are powerful tools for finding better solutions to the complex mathematical problems inherent in turbine design.”

Chacour continued his groundbreaking work, developing a series of powerful computer codes related to the design of hydropower equipment.

“I have worked in five different countries, and there is not a single country in the world that would allow four young engineers to achieve their dream,” Chacour said. “This is the only country in the world where we could have succeeded.”

Other award winners were:
– U.S. Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash. — NHA Legislator of the Year;
– Twenty-year-old Namratha Gudemaranahalli — NHA Past President’s Scholarship Award;
– New York Power Authority — Outstanding Stewards of America’s Waters (OSAW) Award for its Common Tern Habitat Improvement Project;
– Chelan County Public Utility District — OSAW Award for its Chelan River Habitat Restoration/Enhancement Project; and
– American Municipal Power — OSAW Award for its Safety Excellence Project at Belleville Dam.

For more hydropower news and information, click here