Nominations open for 2012 Excellence in Renewable Energy Awards

PETERBOROUGH, N.H. 12/1/11 (PennWell) — Nominations are now open for the 2012 Excellence in Renewable Energy Awards.

The awards, presented by the editors of and Renewable Energy World North America magazine, recognize outstanding projects, programs and technologies in the hydroelectric, wind, solar, biomass and geothermal technology sectors.

Winners will be selected in the following categories:

Project of the Year: Hydropower, Solar, Wind, Bioenergy and Geothermal
Innovation: Technology, Policy and Finance
Leadership: Technology, Policy and Finance

Readers will also have a chance to select one winner for the Reader’s Choice Award.

Nominations are due by midnight EST on December 31, 2011.

All winners will be announced at the Renewable Energy World North America Conference and Expo/Solar POWER-GEN Conference & Exhibition in Long Beach, Calif., Feb. 14-16, 2012.

For more information or to submit nominations, visit the 2012 Renewable Energy Awards page.

Previous articleDraft EIS reviews Yakima water plan including new dams, civil work
Next articleColombia utility seeks bids to equip 2,400-MW Ituango

Nominations open for Excellence in Renewable Energy Awards

The door is open. We are finally ready to accept nominations for the Excellence in Renewable Energy Awards. These awards recognize the best companies, people and projects in the North American renewable energy industry.

Nominations will remain open until Dec. 31, after which the 16 editors of the Renewable Energy World Media Network will vote for the winners in each category. We will also post the finalists in each category so that our audience can select the Reader’s Choice Award. 

Last year’s awards were a big success. And over the past 9 months, we’ve been getting a lot of questions about when nominations will open up. Wait no longer — the time is now. 

The 2011 categories are as follows:

Project of the Year for Wind, Solar, Hydro, Bioenergy and Geothermal
These five awards recognize leading renewable energy projects of any type and scale in the five technology areas listed below. It can be given to a tech company, a developer, a financier, or even an individual, and each project is judged on the overall impact it had on a community or an industry. The projects must be located in North America and must have been commissioned (completed and started operation) in 2010.

Innovation in Policy, Technology and Finance
These three awards recognize innovations in technology, policy and finance that have led to major advances in lowering costs, improving performance, advancing the rapid uptake of, or creating entirely new applications for renewable energy in North America.

Leadership in Renewable Energy
This award recognizes a single individual who has made an exceptional technological, financial, political or grassroots contribution to the field of renewable energy.

Reader’s Choice
After all of the nominations have been made, readers will be asked to vote for their favorite project, innovation or leader. The winner will receive the Readers Choice Award. Voting for this award will begin in early 2011 and extend until the winners are announced at the Renewable Energy World Conference and Expo in Tampa, Fla., in March, 2011.

To submit your nomination and learn about last year’s winners, go to our Awards site.

For more hydropower news and information, click here