Obama names North Dakotan to Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

WASHINGTON 1/26/12 (PennWell) — President Obama has nominated Republican Tony Clark of the North Dakota Public Service Commission to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, succeeding Commissioner Marc Spitzer who left FERC in December.

Spitzer, a Republican lawyer from Arizona whose term officially expired in June 2011, was able to remain in office until his successor was appointed. He announced his departure prior to the last commission meeting of 2011.

Clark has served as the senior member of the North Dakota utility regulator since 2000. He is the immediate past president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and a former North Dakota Labor Commissioner and state legislator. He holds bachelor’s degrees in political science and history education from North Dakota State University and a master’s in public administration from the University of North Dakota.

The nomination of Clark on Jan. 23 requires Senate confirmation before he can assume his new post.

No more than three members of the same party may serve on the five-member commission. The other Republican on the panel is Commissioner Philip Moeller, whose term expires in 2015. The three Democrats on the commission are Chairman Jon Wellinghoff, whose term expires in 2012, and Commissioners John Norris and Cheryl LaFleur, whose terms expire in 2012 and 2014.

Previous articleInterior releases two new studies about Klamath River dam removal
Next articleThomson poised to take over at Manitoba Hydro

No posts to display