Past chairmen meet to participate in FERC’s 1,000th meeting

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission celebrated its 1,000th meeting Dec. 19 joined by a group of past commission chairmen at FERC headquarters.

Former FERC Chairmen Elizabeth Moler (1993-1997), James Hoecker (1997-2001), Curt Hebert Jr. (2001) and Joseph Kelliher (2005-2008) joined Acting Chairman Cheryl LaFleur and Commissioners Philip Moeller, John Norris and Tony Clark for a retrospective discussion of commission activities.

FERC was formed in 1977 when Congress enacted the Department of Energy Organization Act, which reorganized the Federal Power Commission, created in 1928, and expanded its responsibilities to address the nation’s energy challenges. FERC administers the Federal Power Act, Natural Gas Act and Interstate Commerce Act.

The commission’s first chairman, Charles Curtis (1977-1981), addressed the gathering by recorded statement. Additionally, 34 FERC employees who have served since the commission’s formation were recognized for their service.

FERC ranked among best federal agencies to work

The Partnership for Public Service announced Dec. 18 that FERC is No. 6 among mid-sized federal agencies for the best place to work. It ranked No. 1 in work/life balance.

The Partnership for Public Service is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that says it works to revitalize the federal government by inspiring a new generation to serve and by transforming the way government works.

Of mid-sized agencies, the top five best places to work were identified as: 1. Federal Deposit Insurance Corp., 2. Smithsonian Institution, 3. Government Accountability Office, 4. Federal Trade Commission, 5. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

The rankings also listed FERC’s Office of General Counsel as No. 4 best place to work out of 300 subcomponents of agency operations.

Previous articleGhana’s 400-MW Bui hydropower plant completed
Next articleVoith Hydro names new director of marketing and sales

No posts to display